My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Lion’s Head – by the light of the moon

A hike up Lion’s Head at full moon has been on my list of things to do since my family moved to Cape Town in 2002 and I first heard about it. Every year it has come up in conversation around the braai on various occasions followed by “we must do it! When is the next full moon?” but it’s never happened; until now that is! Yesterday the weather was as near perfect as can be. No wind, clear skies with great visibility and while the moon wasn’t full (that happens on the 28th) it was very nearly there and more than bright enough for our hike. We met at the start point at 6:00pm and started up the winding path that resembles the ridges of a snail’s shell spiralling up the mountain. Being one of the hottest days this summer, we soaked up the shade on the city side of Lion’s Head where we took a break to sip on some water and marvel at this view of Cape Town.

Rory Alexander Photography

It took us just under an hour to make it to the top, nearly 2200ft above sea level, where we chose a comfy-looking rock from which to enjoy our dinner and a Hunter’s as we watched the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean.

Rory Alexander Photography

After the sun had gone we continued to enjoy the magical evening as the lights of  Camps Bay below became brighter and brighter but it was when we were getting ready to leave that we went over the other side of Lion’s Head and were stunned by the lights of the city and the moon reflecting off the still water of the Table Bay roadstead.

Rory Alexander Photography

We ended up staying a little longer and experimenting with long exposures to capture the amazing scene that lay below.

Rory Alexander Photography

Almost more amazing than the lights of the city was how Table Mountain came out in this 20 second exposure.

Rory Alexander Photography

So if you are like me and have been talking about doing a full moon hike up Lion’s Head for years now, hopefully this will inspire you to do it sooner rather than later.

17 responses

  1. Pingback: Table Mountain in the moonlight « Rory Alexander Photography

  2. Stunning shots Rory!

    December 27, 2012 at 5:32 pm

  3. Amazing shots, make me missing Cape Town! /Johanna

    December 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm

  4. Breathtaking! I’ve been in Cape Town only once so far, and that was in January–too much wind to climb up that time around. Having seen this especially, I can’t wait to come back.

    December 27, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    • The wind can be a nuisance in Cape Town but hopefully you’ll get a chance next time you’re here. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      December 28, 2012 at 7:24 am

  5. Awesome pics! I love my city!

    December 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  6. Wow! Amazing pictures!

    January 2, 2013 at 3:15 am

  7. Wow! These are amazing shots Rory! I especially like the last one.

    January 6, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    • It’s my favourite too, so glad I finally did it and on such a perfect evening.

      January 14, 2013 at 9:38 am

  8. These are absolutely beautiful! I’ve visited Cape Town and my photos are not nearly as good.

    January 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    • Thank you. I’m lucky enough to live here and so get to photograph it at it’s best 🙂

      January 14, 2013 at 9:48 am

  9. Wow! What absolutely incredible photography and displayed so well.
    So inspiring…

    January 9, 2013 at 9:51 am

    • Thanks Ash, I really appreciate the comment.

      January 14, 2013 at 9:54 am

  10. Amazing pictures and experience. One of my favorite things to do is get up to the top of a city and look down over it. It is like looking down on life, in a weird way. I appreciate you sharing your experience!

    January 13, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    • Thanks, I love looking down on the world too. Whether it’s the top of a mountain or a skyscraper, I will always try and get to the highest point where ever I am.

      January 14, 2013 at 10:52 am

Leave a comment