My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Going for a quick flight over Riebeek Kasteel

I have always had a love for aviation and a few years ago I took a step towards something I had always thought I wanted to do which was getting a pilot’s license. I started flight training with a friend of mine, Hilton Mundy at a little airstrip called Delta 200 out near Melkbos, up the West Coast from Cape Town. For various reasons I stopped my training but Hilton carried on and while it was a long road he eventually got his Private Pilot’s License (PPL) about 5 months ago. Having followed his progress and sharing a love of aviation, ever since I have been looking forward to going flying with him.

Rory Alexander Photography

It was a couple of weeks ago that the weather was favourable and we were able to get up in the air. Taking off from Morningstar Flight Academy, where Hilton completed his license, we pulled the Ikarus aircraft out of the hangar and after a bit of trouble getting it started we soon had all the instruments in the green and taxied to the holding area of runway 20 where Hilton did the pre takeoff checks.

Riebeeck Kasteel Flight-2

Minutes later we were airborne, climbing to 2000ft and routing towards Riebeeck Kasteel at which point Hilton handed over the controls and I got the chance to see how much I remembered of my flight training all those years ago. Sitting in the right hand passenger seat I was a little concerned about having to control the central joystick with my left hand but it is such a stable aircraft and I didn’t have any problems.

Riebeeck Kasteel Flight-3

Once over Riebeek Kasteel, Hilton took back controls and did some 360 turns so I could get a few photos. Although it was a bit hazy we still had fairly good visibility from 3500ft and we were just above the highest point of Kasteelberg that rises up behind the town.

Riebeeck Kasteel Flight-5

We were having so much fun we decided to fly over Malmesbury and head towards the coast and our old practice ground of Delta 200.

Riebeeck Kasteel Flight-4

Once in the general flying area Hilton let me try my hand at some medium turns to the left and right. While I was a little cautious in the beginning executing what was more like a shallow 15 degree turn I soon got the hang of it and was able to get us back on the starting compass heading without having lost any altitude.

Riebeeck Kasteel Flight-6

After an hour and a half of flying it was time to head back to Morningstar with Hilton doing the radio calls I controlled our decent to circuit altitude, and turning on to the downwind leg before handing back controls to Hilton for landing, the most difficult part of flying, which he did a sterling job of.
I used to be nervous flying with my instructor and perhaps it was the lack of pressure but I really enjoyed this afternoon flight and it has got my feet and hands itching to take up flying again.

Leave a Reply

