My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

On the eve of the 2014 Argus Cycle Tour

Paging through the official event magazine for this year’s Cycle Tour I came across this advert for the West Coast National Park and just thought I’d share it because, well, the image is a photograph I took on a clear morning back in 2012 just after sunrise.

2014 Argus Cycle Tour advert

That aside, I have oiled my chain one last time and my bicycle is in the car ready for the World’s Largest Timed Cycle Race tomorrow, the 2014 Cape Argus Pick n Pay Momentum Cycle Tour, known to most simply as the Argus. It’s a 109km cycle race around  the Cape Peninsula and every year approximately 35000 cyclists take part. For years after moving to Cape Town I would go out and watch the seemingly endless stream of cyclists whizzing past when I decided I’d really like to be one of them and I was hooked. I feel like you can’t call yourself a Capetonian if you haven’t ridden the Argus. I have missed the past couple of years, having been out of the country or travelling so I’m looking forward to being back on the road again. Despite starting in the third last group, because I didn’t do any of the seeding races, the weather forecast is looking favourable. It isn’t going be too hot and the dreaded south-easterly wind is supposed to not be gale force. I am known for never doing much training for events like these but I feel like I am fitter than I’ve been for a while and I will be aiming for a sub 4hr 30min time tomorrow. See you on the road Cape Town…

Update: The official results are in and even though the wind made for tough conditions on the day I achieved my goal finishing in 4 hrs & 26 mins with an average speed of 24.58 km/h and finished 21st out of the 518 in my start group. I even had time to stop and chat with my friend Guy McDonald who was MC at the Tsogo Sun supporters spot in Camps Bay and took this pic of me with some of the cheerleaders on the side of the road. All in all a good Argus and a time to beat for next year.

Argus Cycle Tour 2014

2 responses

  1. By the time you read this the race will be over. Hope you are not too stiff and sore! I watched the Elite men and women cross the finish line on TV. My hubby and I then took a walk across to our local mall and dodged the cyclists as they sped off towards Chappies. Perhaps you were one of them! It is an amazing race – and no I have never done it but I still consider myself a true Capetonian.

    March 9, 2014 at 11:05 am

    • It is indeed over and I am happy to report I finished without incident as well as under the time I was aiming for so success all round. It is an amazing race and not least because of all the support on the side of the road, so even if you aren’t a cyclist, just watching the race in your lounge, on the side of the road our dodging cyclists as you cross the road is enough participation to make you a Capetonian in my book 🙂

      March 9, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

