My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Squash Olympic Bid 2020

I first started playing squash when I was just 8 years old back in junior school in Zimbabwe. In high school I played other major sports that I was better at like athletics, tennis, hockey, swimming and rowing where my true talent lay. However it was after moving down to South Africa and having to contend with a different climate that I took squash up again. Anyone who knows Cape Town knows that the weather isn’t particular well suited to outdoor ball sports. Between the howling South Easterly winds in summer that often exceed speeds of 50km/h and the rain in winter you could probably count on one hand the number of days you can play an unbiased game of tennis. The solution, an indoor sport that I could play night or day, rain or shine – Squash.

Over the past 10 years I have played Western Province League Squash and really enjoyed it. I don’t play in a particularly high league but I have fun and you get to meet lots of Cape Town locals in the process which has been good to make new friends in South Africa after we immigrated. So I don’t pretend to be a professional squash player but when I got an email last week from the squash league administrators about the Squash Olympic Bid for 2020, I was slightly embarrassed that I didn’t know squash wasn’t an Olympic sport but also really surprised.

Here is a video that the squash bid team put together to strengthen their case which they presented to the IOC and they were hoping to get to 150 000 views before the crucial vote tomorrow, 8th September 2013, when we will find out if squash will be included in the 2020 Olympics. They have already passed that target number of views but the more the better I say and I think it’s a pretty compelling video as to why squash should be included. But maybe it’s just me, why don’t you watch the video and let me know what you think?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBGox9mV49Y

Leave a Reply

