My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Walk before you run the Table Mountain Challenge

This morning I joined Nicole Biondi for a hike on Table Mountain. In two weeks time she is participating in the Table Mountain Challenge, a 37km trail run around the iconic Table Mountain. She will be part of a relay team, running the second of three legs which is said to be +/- 12kms from the block house above Rhodes Memorial to Constantia Nek. As part of the preparation she wanted to walk the route and have an idea of what was in store and so that’s what we did. After leaving a car at Constantia Nek we drove to Rhodes Memorial and started the uphill climb to the block house at 7:00am just before the sun rose.

Sunrise from just above Rhodes Memorial at 7:10am

The climb up to the block house, on the slopes of Devil’s Peak, issteep and took us the better part of half an hour. We did stop a couple of times though to admire the view in the warm morning light.

Nicole admiring the sunrise (or having second thoughts…)

Another reason to stop, for me anyway, was that a few of the flowers were enjoying the first sunshine in  several days and starting to open their buds.

New flower buds enjoying some Spring sunshine

Spring has arrived

Once at the block house we set off South along the contour path towards Kirstenbosch and Constantia Nek with fantastic views over the southern suburbs with False Bay and Cape Point in the distance.

Looking South towards Cape Point

One of the board-walks along the path

The vegetation along the path varies from low shrubs and flowers to tall trees towering above you.

towering trees along the contour path

While the trees that have died or been knocked over by storms are a haven for moss in the wet conditions of the leeward slopes of Table Mountain.

moss covering a dead log

With all the recent rain we’ve had there are lots of waterfalls coming off the mountain that you have to cross along the path and we had a bit of fun at this one where we stopped to have a quick snack.

Nicole and I having fun at one of the many waterfalls we had to cross

The entire walk took us a little over 4 hours with lots of stopping but it was a beautiful spring day in Cape Town and now Nicole has a better idea of what she’s in for on the 15th September. What did you do today?

19 responses

  1. Amazing! The colors are so beautiful. That would definitely make waking up early worth it.

    September 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    • We are definitely lucky to have such great walks on the mountains literally in our back gardens. Well worth the early rise!

      September 7, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  2. Great post, the photos are amazing! Looks like a fantastic walk, I completely agree with Jessica, it´s definitely one worth waking up early for! Thank you for sharing, G.

    September 7, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    • Thank you. This is just one of many walks you can do on Table Mountain and they are all magnificent. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      September 7, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  3. Michelle

    I wish Harare had walks like that. What a perfect way to spend a sunday

    September 8, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  4. Very colourful photos. I’m in love wit your blog!)

    September 9, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Thank you so much 🙂 As you can see I prefer blue skies to cloudy days but clouds do add a dramatic effect to landscape photos.

      September 9, 2012 at 9:48 am

      • So, we’re waiting for “cloudy” pictures in your collection)

        September 9, 2012 at 9:51 am

      • I think that yuo’re professional photographer. And as I’ve just started to read your blogs I have a question: where are ou from? 🙂

        September 9, 2012 at 10:00 am

      • I only started pursuing photography seriously earlier this year and my goal is to become a professional wildlife and landscape photographer. At the moment I am just busy building my portfolio. You can see my best photos here: http://roryalexanderphotography.wordpress.com/ I was born in Zimbabwe but moved to South Africa in 2002 and have been here since then (except for 2009-2011 when I was in China).

        September 9, 2012 at 10:10 am

      • You’re on the right way, these photos are gorgeous. Especially I like that you don’t reduce the images in your blogs) I have a camera, but don’t have so much talent)

        September 9, 2012 at 10:15 am

      • Appreciate your compliment. I did choose a theme where I could display them as large as possible. My advice is to just go out and shoot as much as possible – practice makes perfect!

        September 9, 2012 at 10:50 am

      • I use every free second for shooting)

        September 9, 2012 at 10:53 am

      • Then you’re on your way 🙂 Where are you from?

        September 9, 2012 at 10:59 am

      • I hope so) I’m Russian studying English and German)

        September 9, 2012 at 11:01 am

      • Cool, I also want to visit Russia someday and do the Trans-Siberian Railway journey.

        September 9, 2012 at 11:43 am

      • Mmm… I would advice Ural mountains and Baikal)

        September 9, 2012 at 11:54 am

      • Thanks, I will look into those.

        September 9, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

