My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Sunrise over Hout Bay

It feels like  only just got back from my trip to America and now I’m off again but locally this time – more to follow in future posts.

The States was great though and if you haven’t seen any of my photos yet be sure to check out my post on Chicago’s buildings and skyline , a time-lapse of the six days of flying at Oshkosh and why it took me an hour to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. After three weeks of summer in America it has been quite a shock coming back to winter in Cape Town and even more so when the deck outside my room was covered in hail.

Winter in Cape Town is not all bad though as in between the cold fronts and rainy days we do get some absolutely glorious days when there is no wind, the sea is calm, the air is clear and the sky is blue. It’s days like these that make you forget all the rain and damp. It’s days like these that remind you just how magic a place Cape Town is to live. It’s days like these that even driving to work one just has to stop and admire the city in which we live. And it’s days like these that I have to stop and take a photo to share with you.

Panorama looking back towards Hout Bay from the Chapman’s Peak viewpoint at sunrise

Do any of you have a view like this too, on your drive to work?

11 responses

  1. Gorgeous! Wish I did have a view like that!

    August 26, 2012 at 10:45 pm

  2. Beautiful photo my man!

    August 27, 2012 at 3:14 am

    • Thanks Wayne. Sure you have similar views in Thailand 🙂

      August 27, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  3. There is no place like it, that’s for sure. The people are unique and among the friendliest in the world. I deserted South Africa 10 years ago, after 19 years of living there. I was 44. Peace of cake, I thought, emigrating, having done it before, having gypsy genes. I was always able to feel at home wherever I landed after I’d put my suitcase down. Now, two Canadian provinces and three European countries later, I’ve still not rooted. I swapped fear for safety. Is it better to be scared to death than to be bored to death? Absolutely. Adrenaline rushes make you feel alive. Having left your heart behind, now virtually untraceable, half dead. Do always keep a finger in the SA pie!

    August 27, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    • It is hard to root again I think. I immigrated from Zimbabwe, which I still call home, and have struggled to feel truly patriotic to South Africa. It’s a difficult thing but I think our home countries will always hold a special place in our hearts.

      August 27, 2012 at 5:40 pm

  4. lea

    aaaaaaamaaaazing view………

    and nope, we don’t have it here in Bahrain… hehe..

    can’t wait to sked our trip to SA, 🙂

    August 27, 2012 at 1:20 pm

  5. So beautiful. I live in FL by the beach but we don’t have those soaring mountain views- it’s flat as a pancake here. I sure miss Cape Town!

    August 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Isn’t it. I’m sure FL has some awesome sunrise and sunsets over the water but the mountains do add that extra dimension. Did you used to live in Cape Town?

      August 27, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  6. Thanks for the follow. Beautiful photos! I look forward to seeing more.

    August 27, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

