My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

I’m going to America !

That’s right, later today I leave for America. This will be only my second time visiting America and considering my last visit barely lasted three days I can hardly contain my excitement as this time I will be spending nearly three weeks in the USA while visiting as many different states. And yes, you guessed it. I’ve started another blog where you can follow my adventure so check out Rory in America.

Why am I going to America? Primarily for Oshkosh.

Like most of my friends over the past few weeks you’re probably wondering what the hell Oshkosh is. Well, in a sentence, it’s the greatest aviation show on earth. Those of you who know me and have been following me will know that I am a little obsessed with anything to do with flying. I even book international plane tickets not based on the most direct route or the cheapest ticket but by aircraft type. Seriously, who does that? Well me,  and so I will be flying with Emirates from Cape Town to Dubai on an Airbus A340 so as to be able to fly on their A380 from Dubai to New York before catching an internal flight to Chicago.

I teamed up with my friend Hilton Mundy, who founded ShortFinal.TV, last year to film a behind the scenes documentary called In the Jump Seat during the 2011 Ysterplaat Air Show. We have just finished the editing of this and it is in production so if you haven’t ordered your copy yet then do it now – here.  We are both passionate about aviation and so it didn’t take long for Oshkosh to appear on our radar (excuse the pun). Hilton had decided he was going and it didn’t take a lot of convincing to get me on board. We are joining the guys from Air Adventure Tours who take over other aviation enthusiasts from South Africa and organise everything including catered camping on the airfield a mere 5 minutes walk from the flight-line.

Just like visiting New Zealand last year, this is going to be another dream come true for me and so come fly away with me on my new Rory in America blog.

5 responses

  1. I know where and have been to Oshkosh! It is in Wisconsin!!!! If you have time to stop by Madison, WI you won’t be disappointed! That is where I went to college and it has a lovely student union on the lake with the best beer! Are you coming through Minneapolis, MN at all? Probably not but if you do, please let me know as our house is always open!

    July 19, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    • Hi Shirl, yes it’s Oshkosh, Wisconsin. Don’t think I’m going to get time to stop by Madison as we are getting a tour bus from Chicago to Oshkosh and back and then have chosen to spend a week in New York on the way back. Not going through Minneapolis either I’m afraid but thank you so much for the offer. If this year goes well I may be back for Oshkosh next year and then maybe I’ll plan to visit some other states.

      July 20, 2012 at 1:02 am

  2. Pingback: Great bright light on a rainy day – Appreciation ALWAYS warms the soul « I am an Afterschool Special

  3. I’m excited for you to come back to the US! even it is Wisconsin…jk. I have very much enjoyed your posts, magnificent photo’s, travels. As a fellow wanderer of the world I am always inspired when I come across pieces of art, whether of the written or image variety, that evoke emotion inside me and your blog has the uncanny ability to continually to so. Therefore I am nominating you for a Reader Appreciation Award. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures in Oshkosh. For what to do next see: http://iamanafterschoolspecial.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/great-bright-light-on-a-rainy-day-appreciation-always-warms-the-soul/ – gl w the move, all the best, the audacious amateur blogger

    August 10, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    • Thanks, I have just returned from the States and had an awesome three weeks. Busy processing photos and will start posting about my adventure soon. Also a huge thank you for the Award, I feel honoured and really appreciate the little write up you gave me. All the best with your job search.

      August 11, 2012 at 7:14 am

Leave a Reply

