My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Hiking to the top of Elsie’s Peak for panoramic views

As you may or may not know I’ve been spending quite a lot of my time working on my photography recently and have started a new blog to showcase my best images so if you haven’t already go check them out at Rory Alexander Photography.

Anyway, on to this post, a hike which I did back in March.

Elsie’s Peak signboard

It was a public holiday and we had to work because of deadlines looming but instead of wasting the entire day we decided to go for a quick early morning hike and then start working. Needless to say it was well worth it with awesome views over False Bay from the top and the dogs loved it too.

Bella and Benny on the path

Looking down onto Fish Hoek beach

Panorama of False Bay from above Fish Hoek

Bella on the lookout

Panorama from above Glencairn looking towards Simon’s Town and Cape Point

Group photo at the top

Not a bad way to start the day !

10 responses

  1. Great memories from my honeymoon… Keep up the good work.

    May 18, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  2. That’s a killer view! It actually blows my mind that this is in South Africa, since I’ve never really “thought” about that place. Looks like it would be a pretty nice place to stay. Are you from there or did you move there?

    May 24, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    • It’s great isn’t it! South Africa and Cape Town in particular is very beautiful. I was originally born in Zimbabwe where I grew up and then moved to South Africa in 2002 where I have been since except for 2 years (2009-2011) that I spent teaching in China.

      May 24, 2012 at 5:37 pm

      • Believe me when I say that I’m awe-struck by that! I guess it’s because (frankly) I’ve never felt a thing for Africa except for always wanting to see the pyramids. Seeing your photos may have changed my mind, so thanks! 🙂

        What part of China did you teach in?

        May 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      • Well I’m glad my photos have changed your mind and that maybe now you will think of visiting South Africa 🙂
        I was in Xiaoshan, part of Hangzhou in Zhejiang province. I really enjoyed my time there, it was tough in the beginning but after a couple of months I had learnt enough Chinese to get by. If you’re interested you can read my China blog here: http://roryinchina.wordpress.com/

        May 24, 2012 at 5:48 pm

  3. Hey Rory, great pictures, I love looking at your pics. Keep them coming! Hope you are enjoying CT. All still good here in Bangkok!

    🙂

    June 6, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    • Hi Allan, thanks and I enjoy taking them. Loving CT at the moment and glad to here all is well in Bangkok.

      June 6, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  4. Beautiful! That absolutely is the best way to start your day!

    June 13, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

