My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

How to cook Lamb Shank – Timelapse

Those of you who know me will testify to the fact that I’m not the world’s greatest cook. It’s not that I can’t cook, nor that I don’t want to; I guess I just haven’t had to cook that much in my life. I can follow a recipe in a book but mine never comes out like the life-size picture on the opposite page and my logical mind is left wondering why the garnish wasn’t included on the ingredients list.

On the recent camping trip I took to the Kgalagadi we met to discuss the shopping list. It was decided that we would share the load and each person would be in charge of a dinner at which point I said “hold on, I’m not sure that’s going to work.” After some debate I agreed that I was happy to cook a meal as long as someone told/showed me how to do it, the deal was made. I was going to be taught how to make Lamb Shank. I only discovered some time later that Lamb Shank has to be cooked for hours and I started thinking that I had lost out on this deal but I also started thinking that it would be a great opportunity to take some, or thousands, of photos during the process and make a time-lapse video. Plus I could then show it to all my friends who would otherwise never believe that I had actually cooked a meal.

grinding pepper over the onion

adding the tomatoes after browning the meat

protecting the camera from the sun

So some 3000 photos later, a bit of editing and the addition of some music here is a time-lapse video of me being taught how to and making Lamb Shank while camping in the bush. Enjoy!

5 responses

  1. Haha that was awesome! Good job!

    February 3, 2012 at 4:35 pm

  2. I agree very clever. But how did it taste?

    February 3, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    • I think it tasted delicious and everyone had seconds which is always a good sign.

      February 4, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  3. Dude, that looks amazing. Get in my belly!

    February 5, 2012 at 6:17 am

Leave a Reply

