My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Kicking it at Kirstenbosch for New Year’s Eve

I know it’s been a while but since New Year’s Eve but the start of 2012 has been a busy one for me; more about that in posts to come. Right now though it’s time for a bit of catch up so I’m going to let the pictures do most of the work.

As a group of friends we had started discussing plans for New Year’s back in October with nothing being set in stone. Time marched on, suddenly it was December and we still hadn’t made definite plans when my mate, Guy McDonald, said that he was MC’ing the Kirstenbosch Concert and that we should all join him there so that’s what we did. We made sure we got there early, as the gates opened, to get a good place on the grass. Then all that was left to do was sit back, relax and enjoy the music. Meanwhile Guy had to keep going up on stage to introduce the next act and here he is, doing what he does best, entertaining with no less than 3 costume changes over the course of the evening.

Guy McDonald, our MC for the evening

I took along my camera as I continue to experiment and improve my photography. This was going to be my first experience of photographing a concert which was tricky with the low light and lots of movement but it was fun none the less and I got these few shots that I was pleased with.

No One’s Arc opening the stage
They definitely were a lively bunch getting everyone to jump around

I was busy trying to get this next photo when some people directly in front of us stood up obscuring the shot but it did make for this rather interesting silhouette.

a chance silhouette

Here Guy was drawing names to win Amarula prizes and we tried hard to bribe him to call out one of our names but alas.

Guy’s second costume change for the evening
Elvis Blue
the moon setting on 2011
Guy introducing the main act – Prime Circle
Prime Circle rocking out the last of 2011

It was at this point that I packed away my camera, and just as well I did because not long after that I turned round at the wrong moment and got a glass full of red wine in my eye and over most of my clothes. Despite this one mishap it was a fantastic evening spent with a few old friends and some new ones.

I hope you all had a good New Year’s wherever you were and may 2012 be all you want it to be.

4 responses

  1. Zubs

    Nice one Rory – keep it up!

    January 27, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  2. I love the moon photo and you did a great job with the concert pics!

    January 27, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    • Thanks, the moon was very cool and I’m sure my next concert shots will be even better.

      January 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

