My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Looking back at 2011 – what a year!

This has been quite a year. I spent the first six months completing my second teaching contract living in Xiaoshan after which I travelled around China for several weeks before jetting off, via Malaysia, to New Zealand for six weeks before returning to South Africa and ending with a quick visit to Zimbabwe for a high school reunion at the end of the year.

All in all, I’ve visited ten different countries, enjoyed taking off 20 times and have taken close to 15000 photos with my new Canon 550D. I did this picture review back in 2010 and you liked it, so here is my snapshot review of 2011. Enjoy!

NB: click on the images to read the full story on their respective blog posts.

January

walked with lions in Victoria Falls

February

got to see my nephew in real life for the first time

March

Went on a staff trip to the Wuyuan region to see the rapeseed flowers in bloom

April

went to my first ever Formula 1 Grand Prix in Shanghai

May

practised until I could solve a Rubik’s Cube in under 3 mins & made a video to prove it

June

I taught my last lesson at Yinhe Experimental Primary School

July

had a mud bath in the limestone caves of Yangshuo, China 

August

I realised a dream and visited New Zealand 

September

saw this reflection at sunset in Lake Tekapo 

October

I arrived back home in Cape Town 

November

got up close and personal with the Silver Falcons while filming aviation videos for ShortFinal.TV 

December

got to spend Christmas with my family for the first time since 2008

Who knows where 2012 will take me but it’s going to be hard to top this.

Happy New Year!

14 responses

  1. Great run-down on your year! Very spectacular! Best wishes for 2012…..

    December 31, 2011 at 11:46 am

    • Thanks, and best wishes for you too in 2012.

      December 31, 2011 at 12:17 pm

  2. This is a really cool Idea, putting together the whole year like this =)

    December 31, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    • It is isn’t it but quite tough choosing just one image for each month.

      December 31, 2011 at 1:14 pm

  3. Your photos are exquisite Rory!

    xoxo

    December 31, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    • Thanks Kimi, they definitely got better as the year progressed.

      December 31, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  4. james Holland

    Great stuff Rory

    December 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    • Thanks James, hope all is well at uni and all the best for 2012.

      December 31, 2011 at 1:57 pm

  5. Nice concept, picture review of the year 😀 maybe I should do one on my blog too!
    Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  6. Great photos – I love the views of New Zealand and Cape Town. Always wanted to visit New Zealand – now even more! And that’s one cute kid.

    January 2, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    • Thanks and you must get to New Zealand, it’s breathtaking.

      January 3, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  7. Great idea for a year end review. Looking forward to following your posts in South Africa.

    January 5, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    • It is isn’t it. Lots more posts and photos to come in 2012.

      January 5, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  8. Sounds like an awesome year! Beautiful photos! Love NZ from the air and can’t wait to see more from Cape Town! Looking forward to travel to both places myself some day!

    January 23, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

