My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Christmas morning timelapse

Ever since I bought my first DSLR camera earlier this year I have been wanting to try time-lapse photography and it struck me that Christmas morning could be a fun scene to capture. Christmas this year was special for several reasons:

– It’s my first Christmas at home for three years as I have been living in China for the last two,

– It’s the first time my sister has hosted Christmas Eve dinner for the whole family,

– It’s also the first Christmas that my nephew, William, at 18 months has been old enough to sort of know what’s going on,

– And the first Christmas in my sister and brother-in-laws new house.

So I set up my Canon 550D in the corner of the room and set the remote interval timer to take a picture every four seconds while we sat in the lounge opening all our presents. Now you can sit back and enjoy the action that took place over two hours earlier today in this short 90 second video.

Merry Christmas!

 

13 responses

  1. Wonderful post!!! I love how your little nephew and his parents are the most active! I sure understand that! So how do you go about learning how to use your new camera? I would love to learn how to tKe better pictures besides my iPhone and mini point and shoot camera. My husband has a canon rebel but I don’t even know how to use that. I am sure photography is an art but I would still like to learn!

    December 26, 2011 at 3:16 am

    • It is exhausting keeping up with little babies as they are indeed so active. As for the photography I’ve just learnt by doing and taking lots of photos. I also have searched the internet for tips and tricks when I’ve seen a photographic style I like and want to know how to do it. There are lots of tutorials online if you look for them.

      December 26, 2011 at 7:14 pm

  2. Cathy Black

    Rory, thank you for you beautiful Christmas card and Message and now the Christmas ever celebrations in Karin’s home.
    So very lovely to be present in the bosom of the home of old family friends.
    A comfort and a delight. All well again after another biggish quake . 10 around the table for Christmas dinner . Lots of haapiness.
    God’s blessings continue upon you and yours with love form Cathy Bryden and all of us in Christchurchxxxx

    December 26, 2011 at 6:22 am

    • Glad to hear you are all safe and sound after the quakes on Friday and may 2012 see the calming and rebuilding of Christchurch.

      December 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  3. Awesome dude! Love it! Timelapse is really cool. Angela did a timelapse with the garden we were trying to grow and it turned out to be really interesting. Merry Christmas.

    December 26, 2011 at 10:29 am

    • Merry Christmas mate. Timelapse is cool but it does require patience and a secure location for your camera but already have a few ideas of other scenes I want to do so look out for more in the future.

      December 26, 2011 at 7:16 pm

  4. Brilliant!

    December 29, 2011 at 11:23 am

  5. Pingback: Looking back at 2011 – what a year! « Rory in South Africa

  6. what a great idea. i am a bit of a newbie too when it comes to DSLR photography and like you i’ve learned alot from the internet and from participating in workshops. thanks for the inspiration! happy new year. kelly

    December 31, 2011 at 8:55 pm

  7. Hahah! we clearly see who is the center of attention here 😛 Nice time lapse, thought about doing this myself this year… One tip, I think you either have autofocus or IS on here, which causes the image to “float” a bit, turn them both off to eliminate that. Also, set your shutter speed to 100 and you wont get that nasty flickering you see there. Also, seeing as you have a Canon 550D like me you could install Magic Lantern http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/Release_2011Dec22 which can allow you to take timelapses without the remote interval timer 🙂
    Happy New Year!

    January 2, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    • I’m still learning so actually shot these photos on full auto (IS + Autofocus on) and watching the video again I now see what you mean about the “float.”
      Not sure what you mean about setting the shutter speed to 100 to get rid of flickering, is that caused by the “auto” setting adjusting to the amount of light?
      I have heard mention of Magic Lantern before but never investigated further, perhaps that should be my New Years Resolution.
      Thanks for the tips and Happy New Year to you too!

      January 2, 2012 at 1:45 pm

  8. What fun timelapse! And what is on that map? 🙂

    January 27, 2012 at 6:25 am

    • Thanks, the poster/map was an aerial photograph of Harare, Zimbabwe where we all grew up and used to live so it was fun to try an identify the various landmarks we all knew.

      January 27, 2012 at 6:28 am

Leave a Reply

