My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

Huge waves on the rocks at Llandudno Beach

One of my favourite places to go is the end of the rocks on the left hand side of Llandudno Beach especially when there is a large swell running. As the waves crash against the rocks spray gets thrown 10s of metres into the air which is spectacular to watch. As I was driving home a couple of months ago I could see the large sets of swell rolling in so I grabbed my camera and went down onto the rocks to capture this to share with you.

spray being thrown up after a wave crashes on the rocks

When the sea is this wild it can be very dangerous at the end of these rocks. Several people have been washed off the rocks and some have even died. My dad and I once had a close call a few years back. We had been watching the waves down at eye level through a gap in the rocks and I asked “what do we do if a really big wave comes that reaches us; Do we run or stay put?” to which my dad replied,”Stay put and hold on.” Sure enough the very next wave rushed up the rock and drenched us and as it receded I was left with scratches on my hands from clinging to the rock. Needless to say I’ve learnt my lesson plus I was alone this time so stayed well back.

more spectacular spray with a big swell in the background

panorama of the Twelfth Apostle Peak towering above Logies Bay

panorama of Llandudno Beach at sunset as viewed from the end of the rocks

me watching the sun set on another great day in Cape Town

I also took the opportunity to test out the HD video capability of my Canon 550D and with my limited editing ability put together this little clip to give you more of an idea of what it’s like when there’s a big swell running here at Llandudno. Enjoy.

5 responses

  1. So cool. Wish I could head to the ocean 🙂

    December 21, 2011 at 4:40 pm

  2. AWESOME!!!! WOW…I love the video and the music is perfect and got me dancing. You are so incredibly talented at photography and the video rocks. Keep writing!!!

    December 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

  3. Nice photography on your blog, Rory. Keep up the good work. Thanks for the likes on my posts!

    January 3, 2012 at 3:43 am

    • Thanks, I’m learning with every photo but enjoying it.

      January 3, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

